re-picturing WARRIORS

From worrier to warrior.

Worrier: a person who torments oneself with or suffers from disturbing thoughts.

Warrior: a person who shows great vigor, courage.

Last weekend we trekked to Minnesota, so that I could help my mom throw a bridal shower for one of my favorite cousins. The events leading up to bridal shower were, how shall I say it, a bit very stressful. As a result, my mom was very worried about the event– about the little things – would we have enough food – and about the bigger things – would there be a major blow-up between the conflicting parties.

In the aftermath, with drinks in hand, we were reflecting on how worried we were about the event and how well it actually went – we had just enough food and there were no major conflicts (perhaps a couple nasty looks, but nothing too bad).

I deeply desire that women go from being WoRRIeRS to WaRRIoRS.

I think the possibilities for this shift in frame of mind are significant.

Psychologists have suggested that rather than worrying about potentially stressful events, adopting a warrior perspective indicates that yes, it may be difficult, but we have the power and resources to cope with anything that comes our way.

I think we could also adopt this perspective when it comes to our bodies. Perhaps we can go from being at war with our bodies, worrying about how we appear to others to being warriors of our bodies, recognizing that we have strength and fighting power. Those things that experience has done to our bodies – the stretch marks from pregnancy, the wrinkles from age – are the battle scars that come with the territory. Rather than resorting to starvation or binging, which reflect a level of self-hatred toward our bodies, we could deal with difficulties straight-on. It’s something to consider.

Worrier or warrior? Which are you?

    • Tiffany Hogan
    • April 27th, 2011

    I love this Sarah. I often feel that we worry so much – especially about important events – that we forget to enjoy them. I will try to think this week about becoming a warrior instead of a worrier! Thank you, as always, for the thoughtful post!

  1. Yes, yes, yes! I’d love to drop the label of worrier and step into my warrior!

    • Mom
    • April 27th, 2011

    Sarah, that is so inspirational! Thank you!

  2. Beautiful Sarah!

    • Maura
    • April 27th, 2011

    Hi Sarah! This is awesome. I have been trying to embrace my warrior/doer/finisher. It feels great! Hoping to keep it up! Thanks for all of ur inspiration lately. Awesome posts!

  3. I love that you are examining the two words because I have often described myself as a worrier warrior. I worry with such passion because I know that when I worry, it usually turns out okay. Its when I think everything is going to be awesome that I am totally blindsided. So a little superstitions going on there but it works. 🙂

    • Dad
    • April 30th, 2011

    Nice hand!!!!!

  4. I love this post. People need to learn the difference between worry and concern. Concern is a legitimate feeling about an event, issue or ongoing problem. With concern, people take action — they actively think about what’s going on, the implications and consequences, and they take appropriate steps to stop or attenuate the concerning process.

    Worry is totally different. Worry is that twisting anxiety and dread that lives in the darkness of your mind and manifests in the body. Worry is WRONG. Concern is CORRECT!

    Blessings,

    Samantha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

