picturing SWIRLING SECRETS

Things seem to keep swirling faster and faster. Although I’ve purposefully added more balance to my life by focusing on other activities besides work, adding those other things that help me to have a semblance of balance sometimes contributes to the swirling.

Can I tell you a little secret? If I’m honest with myself, in some ways I really LOVE all that swirling. It makes me feel alive. I like having challenging work that sometimes takes all of my mental and physical energy. I like having my blog and photography classes to stretch me and keep me accountable to some of my deepest dreams. I like making new connections and being part of a community, even if it sometimes gets a bit hectic.

This is not the case for everyone, but it is certainly the case for me. So instead of trying to change this about myself and my life (that never seem to stop swirling anyway), I’m trying to accept it and lean into it.

A little acceptance goes a long way. There is something ironic about stressing out because I do not have enough time to chill out. Just accepting that things are going to be swirling and that I will continue to carve out quiet moments of rest for myself makes me feel more sane.

However, I also tend to be an all-or-nothing person. I go between complete swirling to complete stillness. I feel crazy or bored. The key for me is to find that point on the continuum when I go from feeling still in the swirling to giving myself up to the swirling and feeling crazy. There tends to be a moment when the swirling goes from being energizing and life-giving to draining and life-taking.

Is there a part of you that likes the swirling? When does the swirling make you feel alive?

    • Tiffany Hogan
    • February 28th, 2011

    I feel the same way! I like the swirling but also appreciate the boost I get from down time. Thanks for this poignant post Sarah!

    • Celina Wyss
    • February 28th, 2011

    I am kind of swirling right now over-committing myself to several online e-courses. But it is that good kind of swirl. If I am not busy I am bored.

  1. Your posts seem to be speaking to me so much lately! I am trying to find a way to accept that I need swirling in my life– I like challenge, changes, trying new things, being involved in lots of activities. Yet I get so stressed about not having enough time to relax, and also not having enough time to do things well and with care. I’m trying to change how I interact with my swirling, trying to embrace it and not let it overwhelm me. A controlled swirl, perhaps? Is there such a thing?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

