picturing AN OLD FASHIONED CHRISTMAS

old fashioned christmas

Photography can provide a great excuse (if you need one) for connecting with others. Each time I drive by my neighbor’s house, I find myself admiring the old truck they have parked in the drive way. I’ve snuck a few shots over the months, but when they hung their Christmas wreath on it, I couldn’t resist. I marched down to their house, introduced myself to them (we’re relatively new to the neighborhood), told them how much I admired the old truck, and asked if they would mind if I took a few shots. Then I went to town. Here’s one of my favorites. Plus, I got a two-for-one. Some fun shots and a new connection.

  1. That is an awesome truck! Great photo!

  2. Love it! Great shot! I took one on the road back in the summer of an old Chevy filled with watermelons. One of my all time fave shots!

  3. I’m with you….. love old trucks….. and the wreath hung on it would have been irresistible. Wonderful photo!

  4. *gasp!* I Love~Love~Love this picture! You could make a great Christmas card with this shot.

  5. How funny! I love the composition!

  6. LOVE IT!! great shot!

  7. Oh my, I love it!!! Great shot.

    • Deb
    • December 29th, 2010

    I love this! I’m always on the lookout for old cars or trucks. It’s great that you met some neighbors too!

    • Celina Wyss
    • December 29th, 2010

    Love it! And kudos to you for introducing yourself. Often that is the hardest part!

    • Jet
    • January 4th, 2011

    This shot is perfect in every way: the blown-out background, the red tail-light and the wreath, the low-to-the-ground perspective. And a neighbourly connection? Bonus!

    I did something similar a while back, but couldn’t actually connect with people – it all looked abandoned. here and here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

