picturing PEACE

peace

As we get ready to begin our journey to Minnesota for the holidays, I still have about 10 things on my list of things to do. Yesterday, I saw these things as non-negotiable. MUST GET DONE. But, guess what? Those things are not going to get done before we leave today. And, I’m feeling 100 times better and more at peace because I just accepted this fact. What reality are you not “accepting” when it comes to the holidays today?

Perhaps, you didn’t pick up that one last gift.

Perhaps, you are dreading seeing that friend or family member.

Maybe you just haven’t found the calm that you’ve yearned for during this season.

Remember. You have a choice today. You can choose peace, you can choose hope, you can choose joy. These may not change your situation, but they will change you, and in the end, that’s all that matters.

Seeing the sunrise reminded me of this quote that I hold close to my heart during hurried times.

Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble, or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart. Unknown.

I’ll see you when I get back from the holidays next Tuesday 🙂

 

  1. I LOVE that quote. xo

    • Tiffany Hogan
    • December 22nd, 2010

    Great reminders, powerful quote! Thanks…safe travels and happy holidays!

    • Jet
    • January 4th, 2011

    Peace, hope, joy. And a lovely quote.

    I would add gratitude. This is the quote I hold close:

    A grateful heart is evidence of a joyful spirit. (Also unknown.)

    • Lauren
    • January 7th, 2011

    Beautiful photo, wise Sarah!

    Letting go can be so important. I did the same thing before the holidays and it was so freeing. This was the first time I hadn’t gotten all of my grading done before the holidays. I still got it in on time (by the time the College opened again on Jan 3), but I was still able to enjoy the holidays because I LET GO of the standards I was imposing on myself.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

