picturing SEEING THE LIGHT

light1

light2

light3

I’ve always had high expectations — I expect the best from both myself and others (including my partner, family, friends, students, colleagues, mentors, dog (yes, even the dog), and pretty much anyone I come into contact with). I generally think this is a good thing. Classic self-fulfilling prophecy stuff:Β  You expect the best, you see the best, and you elicit the best from other people and yourself (or something that’s pretty darn good). However, like all things, balance is important. I have discovered that in some areas of my life, my expectations might be a teensy, tiny bit too high. Having expectations that you can’t realistically reach, isn’t a good set-up. You expect the (potentially unreachable) best, but can’t quite meet that. Instead of feeling efficacy, a sense of accomplishment, this feels pretty crappy. SO, I’ve seen the light (how many times have I seen the light? — I need to remember this is a spiral path) and I’m going to focus on what is right in front of me right now, what I HAVE accomplished, and try to have high, but realistic expectations in the future. Do you have realistic expectations? Any advice on doing this better?

  1. One day at a time. That’s all we can do. xoxo

  2. Those are really beautiful lights. Wow. This was good to read tonight. I have to remind myself all the time to stop and enjoy the view : ) Life is short!

  3. I’m a bit of an over-expecter myself sometimes. And I love the photos!

    • Tiffany Hogan
    • December 8th, 2010

    I struggle with the same concept Sarah. Thanks for your thoughts. I have noticed I admire those with realistic expectations…

  4. Oooo, I love these

  5. Love your light shots, and your post……I’ve had to work on having realistic expectations πŸ™‚

  6. large amounts of champagne help me on the day! love your lights here, fantastic shots.

  7. I fear, my expectations on me are not so realistic… more the same as you describe it. So, unfortunately, I don’t have any advice. All I can say is that I love your photos!

  8. Some days you thing you have it together and some not. It is normal. Just enjoy the journey and learn along the way.

    • Natalie
    • December 10th, 2010

    Nice macros! Makes me wanna take some since I have a couple strands of lights in the house being used for nothing πŸ™‚ Love all the bright colors! …and i just came from a blog where it was snowing ! πŸ˜€ too cute

  9. Lovely colorful images. They popped out of the linky list at me right away. As for over-expectation….I hear you. though must admit, my father always sees the best in folks and it’s served him well. A very vibrant 75 yr old still going strong. No stress.

  10. Such pretty colours, They remind me of old-fashioned sweets. beautiful photo.

  11. Love this. I’m going to have to try to recreate it. You’ve inspired me! πŸ™‚

    Lisa

    • Jet
    • December 16th, 2010

    Beautiful images, Sarah.

    The thing – hands down – that keeps me going, keeps me calm, keeps me sane, keeps my priorities straight – is gratitude. Your photography is a great way to stay focused on what is right in front of you. And there is a lot to be grateful for there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

