picturing BURSTING WITH GRATITUDE

gratitude

Bursting. I am bursting with gratitude right now. As Thanksgiving approaches, I am reminded of all of the things that I am grateful for. A wonderful partner and puppy. Close family and friends. Health. Meaningful work.  Creative outlets. Also, I have some (very) exciting news…a new creative opportunity has recently opened my soul. It has made me feel both joyful and vulnerable at the same time. You know the old saying that “if you build it, they will come?” Well, I’m feeling like “if you picture it…who knows what will happen?” Over the past few months, I have been moving toward a more creative me. Carving out some time for work, play, and rest. Buying a dSLR and compact macro lens. Taking a couple of photography classes. Posting one new picture on my blog each day. I am enormously grateful for those of you who have been reading my blog. Thank you. Thanks to those of you who read and comment regularly and thank you to those of you who just check it out sporadically — just when you need a quiet moment to focus on something other than the hassles of everyday life.I feel like these small movements toward creativity have a way of turning into bigger opportunities. You take one small step and the universe leaps forward.It turns out that I am going to get the opportunity to display my photographs – yes, you heard me, SHOW MY WORK!!!! (bursting may be an understatement). I will be showing my photographs, along with the poetic photographer (and my very dear friend), Meghan Davidson of Life Refocused, at the Lincoln Community Playhouse during their upcoming show in January (thanks to another dear friend, Jenni). We even get to host an opening on January 21 (please let me know if you are interested in coming to Lincoln that weekend — it would be great to have you here — the more the merrier).This opportunity makes me giddy and nervous at the same time. The sense of sharing and possibility makes my heart grow bigger. Nervousness (what will people think? is it too soon? what photos should I choose?) has made my heart contract just a bit. However, I’m choosing to focus on possibility, not perfection. Being open, not closed. My heart over my mind. Acceptance, not evaluation. Love.
    • Tiffany Hogan
    • November 23rd, 2010

    I am SOOOOO excited for you Sarah. I can’t wait!!!! Congrats, your pictures are AMAZING!!!

  1. So excited to be embracing this wonderful opportunity with you. xoxo

    • Erin
    • November 23rd, 2010

    Congrats, Sarah!!!

  2. So happy for you guys. Can’t wait to hear how it went, I know it will be fabulous.

    • Lauren
    • November 24th, 2010

    Wow! Such great news! You write so eloquently and honestly, and your photos are gorgeous. Congrats dear, and enjoy. 🙂

    • Tara
    • November 24th, 2010

    Yaaaayyy! That is awesome, Sarah!!!

  3. Sarah,

    These are such great photos! I love the one you just posted! You really have a lot of talent!

    • Lavonia
    • November 27th, 2010

    I finally caught up with your blog Sarah. The photographs are amazing and your writing is fantastic! I’m so proud of and excited for you!

    • Jet
    • December 2nd, 2010

    Congratulations! Well-deserved acknowledgement. I love the phrase, “possibility, not perfection” in your post. Lovely photo to go with your announcement. Keep on dreaming and creating!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

