picturing APPLE SEASON

In my photo 3 course, we are now working with photographing people and using the flash. I am not loving this portion of my training. I tend to focus on the objects more than the people in the shots and I despise the flash. However, I'm trying to think of interesting flash-friendly objects. Apparently, things like water, hair, and holiday lights are more flash-friendly. If you have more tips, let me know!

    • Jet
    • October 29th, 2010

    What an interesting shot, Sarah Jean – I love the texture.

    My favourite is taking photos of people, it’s pretty much all I did for 20 years, and I’ve branched out a lot in the last eight since I met my husband. His amazing photos are of everything but people, especially landscapes. I’ve learned a lot from/with him.

    I also despise flash photos – it destroys things like fire, food, and some facial tones, and seems to take all the depth out of most pics. I learned from another photog recently to use barely there (-2 or more) fill flash for a human subject with her back to a brightly-lit window. It helps! Would that qualify for your class?

    • Thanks, Jet! I want to take great picts of people, but it is challenging. I will have to try -2 fill flash, but I can’t use that for my class right now. Thanks for the suggestion.

  1. i’m like you. never keen on flash. but if someone uses it efefctvely and beautifully, well, i’d admire that.

    • I agree. I just don’t see it done well often. Thanks for your note, Monica!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

